Why do I use Facebook?

Facebook has become the largest growing social networking site in the world.  People of all ages, races, backgrounds, socioeconomic status, etc. use Facebook as a way to connect with others.   When I was in sixth grade I had a MySpace, but some of my friends had older siblings who were in college using Facebook.  In 2002, when I was 12, no one could use Facebook except for college students.  The only way to get a Facebook was to have for example, a “@georgiasouthern.edu” email address.  It would, then, go to that particular email and the student would have to confirm it was indeed that person.  Since that time, Facebook has been open to everyone, and millions and millions of people have joined.  I use Facebook because I recognize how to use it.  I learned at a young age this particular site, and it is familiar to me.  Although I have heard of Twitter and Google Reader, I feel like I would have a hard time learning how to use those.  I’ve never heard of StumbleUpon, Diggs, or Posterous.  Another reason why I use Facebook is because it was the original social networking site besides MySpace that many people got hooked on to.  I feel like now, there are other social networking sites like Twitter, but those who don’t want to keep up with more than one account, like me, would use the one they first account they signed up on.  I use Facebook to keep up with my friends, my family, and acquaintances that I haven’t seen in a while through Facebook.  Facebook has made it easy to look at pictures, comment on others’ walls, keep up with one another through messaging and chat, and find people you haven’t seen in a long time.  The only other site I am pretty familiar with is Twitter, and if I’m correct, a person can’t post pictures.  You strictly can just tweet.  I use Facebook because all around I am able to do what I want to do on it and keep up with “friends”.

 
Advantages to Facebook:

http://www.geeks4share.com/2010/12/advantages-of-facebook-2/

 

Many employers require that their employees are a part of some social networking site.  Here are some advantages and disadvantages to being on Facebook for a business.

http://fruition.net/social-media/facebook-marketing-2/advantages-and-disadvantages-of-using-facebook-for-your-business/

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hillmill1
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 22:04:47

    I use Facebook for the same reasons! Starting at such a young age we were exposed to this site and as we have used it, it has grown to the largest social media site in the world. I love the fact that we can post pictures and keep up with family and friends. Although I do use Facebook more than other social media sites, Twitter is another site that I have become hooked on! I recommend trying it out because it is very entertaining. I don’t tweet as much as I used to, but I do follow funny people and it is always a good laugh!

    Reply

  2. taylorjones
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 04:52:19

    I am currently a heavily involved Twitter user. I love it because it can be useful for almost anything. For example, if you are wanting to know the score of the Georgia Southern football game but it is not televised, all you have to do is follow Georgia Southern Athletics on Twitter and it will give you updates by the minute. So it is basically like you are watching the game. Twitter allows you to follow popular organizations or companies, which would be good if you are looking for a job. It allows you to be involved with the outside world and what is going on. I personally recommend that you get a Twitter account, you will not regret it!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Student blog comments « tjonesblog
  4. jennayarbrough
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 17:26:21

    Yes, Facebook is the “original”! I also use Facebook for the same reasons and agree with you. It is interesting to know that it all began with college students and has now developed into something we like use with friends and family of all ages. It is great for pictures and keeping in touch. I always want to teach elders how to use Facebook because my grandparents live in Tennessee. I don’t know how much longer they will be on this earth but I would feel that much closer if I could see live feed from them, send pictures, and chat!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

